Too Early, Too Late

Traditionally, from early November to December 23rd, I become hopeless at answering the question “What do you want for Christmas?” I can never think of a single thing.

Today, on December 26th, an advertisement for this device traversed across my computer screen and I almost shouted “Eureka!” Even the description is perfectly in tune with my Christmas letter theme this year – that life seems to be going by too quickly. This is it. This is the thing I wanted and should have asked for.

barisieurThe Barisieur

The Barisieur is an alarm clock and coffee brewer. It eases the user into the day with the subtle movement of stainless steel ballbearings that boil the water through induction heating, accompanied by the smell of freshly brewed coffee. It encourages a ritual before going to sleep, signalling to the body and mind that it is time to unwind and relax. Living slow even when times are fast.

Don’t get me wrong – I got great presents this year. I love my fluffy bathrobe and cell phone upgrade. But this Barisieur . . . own this and you have a life. I want to wake up to the smell of freshly brewed coffee within my reach.

And while I am at it, I also want to wake up in a bedroom that opens up onto a sunny porch like the one in the picture. I assume the view from there is spectacular. Maybe rolling hills and distant mountains. Or a beautiful sandy beach and aquamarine colored water. I want to put on my fluffy new bathrobe, take the cup of aromatic coffee and my new cell phone and step out onto the porch, where I can leisurely check emails and blog and then read the news . . .

I also want to be able to set my coffeemaker/alarm clock for 7:00.

I checked out the website. Unfortunately this product is still in development. But some day, the perfect life will be available for the low estimated cost of £200-250.

4 thoughts on “Too Early, Too Late

  1. Okay, point taken. And I do realize that my own coffeemaker has a timer on it too. But there are no stainless steel balls! No induction heating! No evening ritual to make me fall asleep faster and my life pass by more slowly . . . Clearly, this Barisieur is the real thing. Or it will be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

