Democracy – Lesson #1

My two step-fathers were both Republican and my mom married them anyway. They were both good people. With both of them, my mom shared the same Election Day ritual. They walked together down to the polling station holding hands. They cast their mutually negating votes, went to a nice restaurant for dinner, and then walked home again, holding hands.

Once, when I was a teenager, I asked mom and Stepfather #1 if they ever considered skipping the voting part, seeing as how they were simply cancelling one another’s vote out. Both of them looked at me with expressions of indignant horror. Not vote? What are you talking about? Voting is a privilege! And a duty! We would never not vote!

Leave a Reply

