Another Rough Moment in Parenting

Since yesterday’s post, I have been thinking about how it has been to raise my daughters. They came to us already born with good hearts and good heads, each one with her own special talents. I really have had it so easy when it comes to parenting.

Except for that one time.

Mitzi was in about 2nd Grade and invited a friend over after school to play. Lily was with them in the library and they were listening to music. A song came on that I liked a lot and so I danced into the room. They all stopped playing and just stared at me. So I stopped dancing. Mitzi’s friend looked over to her.

“Don’t worry,” she said, “My mom is even more embarrassing.”

5 thoughts on “Another Rough Moment in Parenting

  1. Ah, I love this little incident.
    My daughters use to say:” Mom, don’t look so scary!” (“Mama, guck nicht so gruselig!”) when I open my eyes wide (with amazement, incredulity, wonder…whatever they provoke).

    Like

  2. Oh how clearly I remember the deep embarrassment I felt about my parents.

    I think its because as kids we don’t actually realize that our parents are people. That they have an existence outside of the one we perceive, that they have interests and dreams and joys and sorrows, just doesn’t occur to us until we are older. We think they are one dimensional entities in our lives and whenever they act in anyway that shows them to be other than that – gaaaah.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true. I was never embarrassed by mom, but she was 50 years old for about 3 decades. It kills me when I think back to childhood family memories and realize my mom was 10 years younger at the time than I am now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

