No Go on the Go-Stop and the Stop-and-Go

It’s Day Two of our vacation in Tyrol and things continue to repeat themselves.

After writing yesterday about my first visit here 29 years ago, I got to thinking about a card game I had learned in South Korea called “Go-Stop” – played with (Japanese?) flower cards like these:

gostop1

When I first came here, my husband’s cousins were quite young and interested in learning the game. We played it so much that I left them a pack of cards and instructions as a Thank you gift when I left. Over the years, I had completely forgotten how to play this game, but have been thinking on and off that I would like to introduce it to my girls and my school kids. On a whim, I asked my aunt if they still had the cards I had given them, and sure enough, we found them. And not only a complete set, but a copy of the instructions neatly typed up and then copied smaller and smaller until they fit perfectly in the little box. You can see them in the picture – “Spielregeln”. (God I love orderly people! I’m so impressed!) With the help of the information there, my own jogged memory, and a little bit of internet research, I managed to relearn the game.

Unfortunately, no one wanted to play with me.

“C’mon! It’s fun! Look here – each group of four cards represents a month – these are December. And these are August – see the Harvest Moon?”

“That’s very interesting, Mom.”

“Well there’s more! You get to slap the cards down to capture and collect matching ones. It’s fun and makes a cool sound.” I demonstrated a play.

And yet, they were unmoved. So I played my trump card, so to speak.

gostop3

 

“And when three cards pile up like this it is called ‘pooping.’ If there are two or more piles like these, they call it ‘diarrhoea’. Isn’t that funny?!”

I couldn’t get my girls even slightly interested. And then they all took off to go skiing.

When you are all alone in Tyrol because everyone has abandoned you for the slopes, there’s only one thing to do. Annoy a dog.

lotte 4I put on my jacket and boots and called little Foofy. She saw the leash and only went with me reluctantly. She pulled me the whole way and seemed irritated by all the breaks I made to take pictures. Stop. Go. Stop. Go. She finally just plopped down and refused to go any farther. And just like my daughters, she wasn’t at all interested in the pooping thing.

6 thoughts on “No Go on the Go-Stop and the Stop-and-Go

    1. Foofy is just the generic name I use for any dog that is poodle size or smaller. And something tells me I don’t want to know what it means in British slang . . . but, go on . . . tell me anyway. If it is really bad, I will change the name in the post – she really is a lovely dog. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

