“Do Over!”

 

Cringe-worthy – Part 2

Here’s hoping childhood Journal #2 represents the low point (– actually I should say “high point”) of my latest project. Covering approximately ¾’s of my time as a 15 year old, it continues the series of “Best Day of My Life!!” entries including the name of some boy I had to search for in an old yearbook to remember. These “relationships” had an average duration of three weeks, two of which I spent either worrying about “being used” or pining after some other, better (unattainable) option. (Do I need to point out the irony here?)

The obnoxiousness of this journal must have become apparent to me as I was writing it – although I never state that directly. All I know is that the notebook is only half-full and ends with a To Do list:

journals 2 and 3

Journal #3 (underneath) begins on the same date upon returning from the store. Based on the handwriting, the content, the writing style and the absence of exclamation points and heart-shaped doodles, it seems I matured about two years during that walk to Drew’s.

I’ve only read the first few entries of Journal #3, but am already hopeful that I have successfully passed the Point of Peak Cringe. Keeping my fingers crossed.

11 thoughts on ““Do Over!”

  1. The teen years are all about angst and drama! I especially love this: “Based on the handwriting, the content, the writing style and the absence of exclamation points and heart-shaped doodles, it seems I matured about two years during that walk to Drew’s.” Maybe the next notebook will reveal what sort of lightning struck you, what sort of revelation caused you to not only change, but leave a notebook half full and move onto a new one. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Not at all. I was actually just smiling at it, because picking up rooms haunts you all your life. If I put any item on a to-do list (private to-do list, not work), it is usually stuff I really hate doing. Stuff, that usually gets postponed for as long as possible, maybe thequirkyone is right, putting such things on a list, gives one a sense of accomplishment. Ticking the item off later, even more so (seldom happens, in my case).

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Maybe it’s just me, but I look at that to-do list and see an organized, studious and responsible teenager, cleaning her room and doing her homework. Or maybe your list was more aspirational than predictive, like mine often are even today. Unfortunately, I get a sense of accomplishment simply from making the list.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Maybe it’s just me, but I look at that to-do list and see a to-do list. Sort of like the “aspirational” ones describe. On the other hand, I did walk to Drew’s and grow up, so maybe, just maybe, the room got cleaned too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

