Pigs Galore

 

So . . . it’s my blog’s birthday and I am officially embarking on Year 3. Time for some profound self-reflection . . .

 

pig1

Lately I have been noticing a preponderance of pigs. First, on New Year’s Eve, I drew a good luck candy from a bag a friendheld out to me and it was this little pig.

pig2The next day, another friend handed my two daughters these slightly obscene marshmallow candy pigs.

 

Then, today, we went to a friend’s 50th birthday party and this was part of the buffet.  A sow’s head.

pig3

I admit it grossed me out. Even more so when my husband proceeded to slice off part of its cheek and an ear – which he then actually ate.  How did we two ever end up married? But more to the question: why were these pig images showing up everywhere?

My first theory was that maybe we are entering the Year of the Pig in Chinese zodiac. So I looked it up – and promptly had to scratch that idea. It seems that the same week we get our new president, we will move from the Year of the Monkey to the Year of the Rooster . . . hmmm . . . from monkey business to crowing . . . . Maybe these Chinese were on to something!

I checked out my own zodiac and discovered a few things. I had known that I was born in the Year of the Tiger, but I found out that I also grew up as a Tiger, became a Rat in my married life, and that my internal true identity is a Dragon.

And my husband is an Ox.

As you can see, Oxen don’t mix well with either Tigers or Dragons (“Worst couple”), so thank goodness for my married inner Rat.  (Notice the little red heart and “Perfect match” in the chart below.)

Source: travelchinaguide.com
Source: travelchinaguide.com

 

I then cross-checked with the Tiger’s love compatibility and got the same results. Oxen and Tigers are a no-go.

pigs5

There was one thing left to do to verify these findings – I checked out my husband’s married life sign, hoping it would produce one of the three red hearts in the chart above. And, thank goodness, it did!

My husband is a pig! Yeaayy!

Mystery solved.

 

7 thoughts on “Pigs Galore

  1. True serendipity, 227. The door opens, you follow where it leads, and often you end up in an interesting place, which paradoxically completes the circle while landing you in a different dimension, like a parallel universe. Anyway, glad that Chinese calculations place you and hubby on the same square on the compatibility chart. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a lucky girl you are!
    Had to check out my chinese zodiac after reading this post. I was amused to find, that sweetheart and I are “complementary” which is second best to your luck ranking in love matters. Whereas big Al is “worst match” ever 🙂
    Anyways, my overall 2017 predictions are a lot better than 2016’s, so all is well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, this whole post began with the sow’s head picture and me wanting to get some playful payback for him eating that ear in front of me. The whole Chinese zodiac thing came as an afterthought (how can I call him a pig in a really nice way?) and turned out – as Joan says – to be serendipity. Including the tidbit that I am a rat wife. Kind of like that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Huh, the sow’s head is really disgusting, My first thought was: “Lord of the Flies” (W. Golding). When I read the book, I somehow visualized a picture like yours.
    We use to give each other little pigs as presents as a symbol for good luck (in the new year), sometimes with a lucky clover in their mouth. Must be a cultural thing whose reason I ignore (and which I avoid with the Syrian refugees in the neighborhood).
    In your last post, I first read “Syrian” instead of “Styrian”. Did you ever stumble about that rhyme?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! It reminds me of Lord of the Flies too. As for Styrian and Syrian, I never thought of the similarity between those two words before. Maybe because most of our refugees are from Afghanistan.

      Like

Leave a Reply

