Inaugural Blackout

Is it just me, or is anyone else out there getting really irritated at the way he keeps saying everything two or three times in a row?

Before I started writing this post today, I intended to do some internet research on what possible medical condition he has. (Search terms: “symptoms: word repetition, impulse control, pathological lying . . .”) I believe I figured it out too. But that will have to wait till tomorrow.

Because I got sidetracked with the transcript of the inauguration speech. I started circling the word repetitions. Then I suddenly remembered a post from Joan about blackout poetry, which I have been wanting to try out ever since . . .

As usual with such things – I was overly ambitious – this took me hours and hours. At the end I had a whole list of ideas of what I would do differently the next time – starting with better materials.

But here you have it – such as it is – my first blackout attempt and my latest contribution to the Resistance:

inaugural

 

4 thoughts on “Inaugural Blackout

  1. This is a totally AMAZING piece of poetic art. Love the use of colors and symbols and how you have used the annoying echoes of repetition to make a statement. Are you sure this is your first attempt at a black-out? It is Great. Great. Great. Great. Great. Great. And thanks for the shout-out and link to my page. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the tip – I just started following that blog. I think in Trump’s case the repetition goes beyond literary effect – he does it in interviews and press conferences and pitches for his hotels etc.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

